Where Privacy Dies, by Priscilla Paton

Where Privacy Dies by Priscilla Paton
Where Privacy Dies
ISBN: 978-1-60381-665-6
Paperback: $15.95
Ebook: $4.95

Where Privacy Dies (252 pages), is the first book in a cozy mystery series by Priscilla Paton. When the photo of a little girl is found on an executive’s corpse, Detective Erik Jansson and his new partner, Detective Deb Metzger, delve into a world of lying informants and deadly secrets in order to uncover the truth about the girl’s identity.

“Priscilla Paton adds a fresh voice to the mystery scene with Where Privacy Dies. Paton delivers lively descriptions, and has an ear for dialogue that works well defining her characters. I loved the interactions, and verbal volleyball, between the unlikely G-Met partners, Detectives Erik Jansson and Deb Metzger. From the discovery of a well-dressed man’s body in a wetland, to the unsavory dealings of people in high places, she kept me reading, trying to figure out who was really in the bad guys’ corner.” —Christine Husom, National Best-selling Author of the Snow Globe Shop Mysteries, and the Winnebago County Mysteries

“Fans of SJ Rozan and Deborah Crombie are going to love the mismatched crime fighters at the center of this masterful and timely debut novel; Priscilla Paton tells their story with confidence, style and cunning.” —David Housewright, Edgar Award–winning author of Like To Die

An executive’s corpse is discovered in a Minneapolis wetland, and with it the photo of a girl. Is she unconscious or dead? Detective Erik Jansson takes on the investigation and is mismatched with a new partner, the imposing Detective Deb Metzger. They soon learn that the murdered man worked for a reputation management firm that serves wealthy clients. Other employees from the firm have also vanished, but information is withheld from the detectives by a corporate cover-up.

Erik and Deb pursue promising leads about the identity of the photo girl. When these leads take them to a down-and-out family and a Northwoods cabin, they seem to be dead-ends—or are they?

Despite informants who lie, the online targeting of another girl, and threats to their own safety, Erik and Deb delve deeper. The story becomes stranger and more unsavory as intensely private and deadly secrets come to light.

Book One in A Twin Cities Mystery series.

Priscilla Paton grew up on a dairy farm in Maine. She received a B.A. from Bowdoin College and a Ph.D. in English Literature from Boston College. A former college professor, she has taught in Kansas, Texas, Florida, Ohio, and Minnesota.  She has previously published a children’s book, Howard and the Sitter Surprise, and a book on Robert Frost and Andrew Wyeth, Abandoned New England. She married into the Midwest and lives with her husband in Northfield, Minnesota. When not writing, she participates in community advocacy and literacy programs, takes photos of birds, and contemplates (fictional) murder. For more information, go here.

** Click the cover image to order online **

** Or buy it for your KindleNook, or in other digital formats on Smashwords**

** Wholesale customers, contact orders@epicenterpress.com**

Restitution_Front-Cover_WEB
Restitution, by Donald Catalano
WrappedInDarkness_FRONT-COVER_2560pxWEB
Wrapped in Darkness, by David Carlson
Berlin_Walls_Cover_1600_Pixels
Berlin Walls, by Bill Rapp
The-Last-Straw_Front-Cover_eBook
The Last Straw, by Michael Niemann